Reign V

Leopard print and sequins aren’t Tyrian,
Yet somehow you wear them like an empress,
Greco-Roman goddess, empyrean
Snow queen, or else a fairy tale possessed
Of beauty that drives men to agony.
But you are no urn and this is no ode.
And though I could write reams of flattery,
Fill libraries with choruses in code,
I’ll refrain. “Shall I compare thee…?” No. I’ll
Speak plain. I am honored to call you friend,
To know someone who is kind, both gentle
And unyielding, intelligent, a blend
Of qualities I myself strive to hold
(But in your hands, they are greater than gold)

Leave a Reply

