Pantoum from a Stolen Line

From a pile of pieces of a person,

I have made art (like a madman driven,

Locked away in a cell, feverishly

Hopeful as I struggle against my mind)

 

I have made art like a madman, driven

Because I lacked the strength to look inwards,

Hopeful as I struggle against my mind,

Swearing I’m fine, dripping blood on canvas

 

Because I lacked the strength to look inwards,

You held out your hand to me, fingers wide

(Swearing “I’m fine,” dripping blood.) On canvas

And on paper, I swore to honor you

 

You held out your hand to me, fingers wide.

Trembling, mumbling thanks, I opened myself,

And on paper I swore to honor you,

In awe of your strength, your grace, and kindness

 

Trembling, mumbling thanks, I opened myself.

This is what I’m doing: Like a monk, I’m

In awe of your strength, your grace and kindness

Working to create something greater still

 

This is what I’m doing: Like a monk, I’m

Locked away in a cell, feverishly

Working to create something greater still

From a pile of pieces of a person

2 responses to “Pantoum from a Stolen Line

  • Kody Manke

    Tom! This one is fucking great — very clever.

    On Wed, Apr 20, 2016 at 10:08 AM, Stupendous Stories wrote:

    > stupendousstories posted: “From a pile of pieces of a person, I have made > art (like a madman driven, Locked away in a cell, feverishly Hopeful as I > struggle against my mind) I have made art like a madman, driven Because I > lacked the strength to look inwards, Hopeful as I st” >

Leave a Reply

