The Craftsman’s Lament

Happy National Poetry Writing Month! Get ready for thirty days of poetry. Also, I have a tumblr now. I have no idea how to use it. It’ll be fine, though. We can all learn together.

Tell me again

I’m good with my hands

 

(It’s been so long since I’ve heard it

I don’t remember if I ever

Believed it)

 

If I was

If I am

Wouldn’t I be doing

Something better than this?

 

Fingers wrapped around

The neck of a bottle

Fingers gripping tight

To a rooftop balustrade

Fingers entwined around

Someone pulling away

 

Precision machines

Devoted to nonsense

Soft structures

Growing callused

 

These hands were meant for better things

For charting courses around curves

For reading the braille of the body

For transcribing human divinity

For making you smile

 

I tell you, love is in these fingers

4 responses to “The Craftsman’s Lament

Leave a Reply

