Prisoner’s Dilemma, Pt. 13

THE GREY MAN

This is the part where someone a little more obvious would give you a speech about fighting monsters and becoming monsters and all of that. But that’s not me. I’m under no delusions that I’m a good man. I don’t go to bed at night telling myself I’m a hero so I can sleep with a clear conscience.

Beat.

This is the way I look at it. There are people out there who would gladly see the people I love and the things I care about destroyed. I want to defend those things. The higher the stakes, the more I’m willing to do. And if that means cutting the finger off of a gangbanger that’s connected to a cartel that’s connected to terrorist groups with a history of attacking the United States, then so be it.

Beat.

Do you get what I’m saying? I’m not sitting here thinking about my country, or my patriotic duty, or the office of the president, or any of that shit. I’m thinking about my wife. My 16 year old daughter that hates me and my 9 year old son that will never be as athletic as I was.

Beat.

Given the choice between you and them, I’m going to choose them every time.

Beat.

Your friend still has nine more fingers. Are you ready to talk yet?

Leave a Reply

