Fireworks

A confession: I wrote this poem in 2012 and scheduled it to appear today back on February 8th. Enjoy!

 

A childish pleasure fills me this night,

Hands shaking with joy and nicotine

Other people’s children

Laugh and scream and cry

And I smile as I recall moments

We have never shared,

As I invent new ones

To be punctuated with

Flashes of

Strontium

Barium

I pick a mortar out of the night sky

Watch it spiral heedlessly up

And give it to you

It is transient

Beautiful

It explodes

Fades

Leave a Reply

