A Translation of Pablo Neruda’s “Soneto LXVI”

I do not love you, but I love you.

I go from wanting you to not wanting you,

Hoping for you when I do not hope for you.

My heart passes from the frost into the fire.

 

I love you only because you are who I love.

I hate you endlessly; hating you, I pray to you.

The measure of my wandering love

Is to not see you and so to love you like a blind man.

 

Maybe the January light will devour

My heart entire with its cruel ray,

Stealing from me the key to peace.

 

I can only die in this story,

Die of love because I love you,

Because I want you, Love, in blood and fire.

Leave a Reply

