Cartaphilus

I have lived and have loved more than you know,

And I have known homes where I longed to stay,

But by then, I had no choice but to go.

 

I have seen beating hearts turn cold as snow

Beneath the weight of the words I can’t say.

I have lived and have loved more than you know.

 

I have watched tempers flare, words turn to blows

Where a small kindness might yet win the day.

But by then, I had no choice but to go.

 

At times, I have been the decent man’s foe

And have ruled where only devils hold sway.

(I have lived and have loved more than you know.)

 

I have met some so kind they seemed to glow.

They could bring color to a life a turned grey.

(But by then I had no choice but to go.)

 

So much and so many, but just one I wish I’d shown

Wished I’d told, “Love, in you alone do I feel this way:”

“I have lived and have loved, more than you know.”

But by then, I had no choice but to go.

 

Leave a Reply

