A Girl and Her Dog

In lieu of continuing “The Milkman’s Eyes,” I’m sharing some poetry I’ve composed. “The Milkman’s Eyes” will conclude this week. Scout’s honor. In the meantime, poetry!

For Michelle

If you will keep me safe
I will feed you
And if you will walk by my side
I will find us water to drink

Though fire rains from the sky
Though violent men haunt our every step
I will not leave you
Will not abandon you
If you do not abandon me

And when night falls
And we are huddled around dying embers
And your eyes are shut
And you are dreaming of a better world
A simpler world
I will keep you warm
And I will love you
And you don’t have to do anything at all

Leave a Reply

